How I got started programming.

Ok. FYI, I know I’m nothing in this field, but I just wanna leave my thoughts about this topic.. so I brought the idea from toxicsoftware.com blog, and the author of toxicsoftware.com, Jonathan Wight(Thanks!), brought the idea from http://www.randomnonsequitur.com/post/32 written by Anne K. Halsall.


1. How old were you when you started programming?

Um. I was kinda late I guess. I was 19, a college freshmen. I had no interest about programming or even computer, but I was accepted several colleges and this major(Software Engineering) was better than the others.(Seriously there was a major learning how to raise and take care of cows.. Obviously, I couldn’t choose it.)

2. How did you get started in programming?

My major was about computer, so of course I had to learn programming. I was in a lab, and had a scary senior. He trained me so hard.. Now I respect him as my first teacher!!

3. What was your first language?

It was C. C was the main language in the most of colleges in 2002.

4. What was the first real program you wrote?

Of course, ‘Hello World’ program if you count the first console program as real program. If not, my first program is a small web library program. And of course this is also my first web program. I developed this with a couple of friends, but later I mainly maintained this and fixed bugs. And it was worth $2~30,000 according to my mento.

5. What languages have you used since you started programming?

C > C++ > ASP > Java > JSP > ASP.NET
Now I’m thinking of learning Perl for future Computer Forensics study.

6. If there is one thing you learned along the way that you would tell new developers, what would it be?

If you do this for money, you’d better not do this.
There are three levels of roles: Coder, Programmer, Developer.
Coders copy and paste code.
Programmers create code with some ideas.
Developers create services with bigger ideas.
The rule of categorization is the size of thoughts and wideness of sights.

7. What’s the most fun you’ve ever had programming?

Releasing new program for clients. I feel so happy when my clients really appreciate and use the program well.

5 Responses to “How I got started programming.”

  1. Maybelline Says:

    Yeah, I want to learn perl too.

  2. Maybelline // Yes. Especially it is used for computer forensics too. Perhaps before this year ends I will get a book and study it. =]

  3. […] 21, 2008 Browsing through programming blogs at wordpress.com I noticed an interesting post (inspired by a similar post at toxicsoftware.com) asking people how they got started programming. […]

  4. Hey there,

    Credit should really go to Anne at http://www.randomnonsequitur.com/post/32 for getting me to post at all.

  5. Jonathan Wight // Thanks for the correction. I will fix it. =)

Leave a Reply

